

ELECTIONS 2021Council Elections

Voting members: The President, President-elect, Treasurer and 10 Councillors

Non-voting members: The Speaker of the General Assembly and the Executive Director

Position	Name	Geographical Area	1 st term	2 nd term if re-elected	Eligibility in 2021	Vacancy in 2021 Yes/No
President	Dr Gerhard Konrad Seeberger	Not applicable	2019 - 2021	N/A	NO	NO
President-elect	Prof. Ihsane Ben Yahya	Not applicable	2019 - 2021	N/A	NO	YES
Treasurer	Dr Greg Chadwick	Not applicable	2019 - 2022	N/A	NO	NO
Councillors						
	Dr Nahawand Thabet	Africa	2019 - 2022		N/A	NO
	Dr Ashok Dhoble	Asia Pacific	2014 - 2017	2017 - 2021*	NO	YES
	Prof. Young-Guk Park	Asia Pacific	2017 - 2021*		YES	YES
	Prof. Lijian Jin	Asia Pacific	2015 - 2018	2018 - 2021	NO	YES
	Prof. Takashi Inoue	Asia Pacific	2014 - 2017	2017 - 2021*	NO	YES
	Dr Maria Fernanda Atuesta Mondragon	Latin America	2017 – 2021*		YES	YES
	Dr Carol Gomez Summerhays	North America	2019 - 2022		N/A	ОИ
	Dr Edoardo Cavallé	Europe	2014 - 2017	2017 - 2021*	NO	YES
	Prof. Paulo Ribeiro de Melo	Europe	2018 - 2021		YES	YES
	Asst. Prof. Nikolai Sharkov	Europe	2016 - 2019	2019 - 2022	N/A	NO
Speaker		•			•	•
	Dr Susie Sanderson	Not applicable	2017 - 2021*		YES	YES
	•	1		1		

*In 2020 General Assembly remote vote: the terms of office of members whose term was ending in 2020 was extended for one year to 2021. (Additional year is not counted towards the total number of years a person can serve on a Committee.)

There are nine vacancies: one vacancy for President-elect, seven vacancies for Council and one vacancy for the Speaker: One vacancy for Council is open for nominations from Latin America only, and one vacancy for Council is open for nominations from Asia Pacific only. All other vacancies are open to nominations from all Geographic Areas. All members are to be elected by the General Assembly.